The African Open Science Platform Eastern African Node (AOSP-EA)

Panel Discussion During the VizAfrica Conference 2024

The African Institute for Capacity Development (AICAD) has been selected as one of the initial three regional nodes of the African Open Science Platform (AOSP). AICAD will serve as the Eastern African Node, headquartered in Kenya, for a five-year term starting in June 2023. The selection process was competitive, with AICAD demonstrating its capacity and commitment to advancing open science initiatives in the region.

As part of the AOSP, hosted by the National Research Foundation (NRF) of South Africa since 2020, AICAD’s role will be pivotal in coordinating, facilitating linkages, and promoting open science efforts in East Africa. By strengthening knowledge networks, enhancing infrastructure access, and fostering cooperation both regionally and globally, AICAD aims to advance the vision of the AOSP.

Supported by various stakeholders including the South African Department of Science and Innovation, the International Science Council, and other regional networks, AICAD will lead efforts in program delivery, capacity building, societal engagement, and policy support aligned with UNESCO’s Open Science Recommendations. Dr. Tshiamo Motsegwa, the incoming Director of AOSP, emphasizes the significance of open science in driving efficiency and productivity gains, particularly for resource-constrained regions like Africa. AICAD’s appointment signifies a step forward in developing an African-wide open science diplomacy platform to enhance continental coordination and collaboration, ultimately building a science system tailored to the needs of Africa.

Project Activities

AICAD hosted the VizAfrica Conference 2024 which acted as the first Activity under the AOSP node Project. During the Conference different stakeholders came together to champion for open science in the region. This included stakeholders such as Global Open Science Cloud, China, which also signed a colloborative MoU with the AICAD during the opening ceremony of the conference.